Get Updates

STUART SMITH to the Minister of Education: What recent announcements has she made regarding Communities of Learning?

Hon HEKIA PARATA (Minister of Education): Tēnā koe, Mr Speaker. I was pleased to announce this morning that more than half of New Zealand schools are now working together in 148 communities of learning (COL).

This means that to date, more than 1,260 schools and 18 early learning services have now formed communities of learning, supporting more than 410,000 kids. Twenty-six COLs have set their education achievement challenges, and 30 new community of learning leaders have now been appointed.

In addition, almost 400 teachers have been appointed to new roles within their communities. I want to acknowledge all the schools and early learning services that have committed to work together to lift the achievement of all their students.

Stuart Smith: How do communities of learning support achievement for our young people?

Hon HEKIA PARATA: Research and the direct experience of parents show that within schools, the quality of teaching has the biggest influence on whether students will be successful.

The communities of learning, resourced through the Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative, received additional resources to enable teachers and principals to systematically share their expertise to raise all student achievement.

Share this post